

PRESIDENT GUY TOMBERLIN, CBO Branch Chief Department of Public Works and Environmental Services Fairfax County, VA

VICE PRESIDENT ALEX "CASH" OLSZOWY III Building Inspection Supervisor Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government Lexington, KY

SECRETARY/TREASURER M. DWAYNE GARRISS State Fire Marshal State of Georgia Atlanta, GA

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT STEPHEN D. JONES, CBO Construction Official Milburn/Short Hills Township, NJ Borough of Florham Park, NJ

WILLIAM JEFFREY BECHTOLD Senior Building Official Planning and Development Services of Kenton County Mitchell, KY

ALAN B. BOSWELL, CBO, MCP Chief Building Official City of Tuscaloosa Tuscaloosa, AL

JIM H. BROWN Deputy Building Official City of Gillette Gillette, WY

WILLIAM R. BRYANT, MCP Code Enforcement Administrator Department of Inspections and Permits Anne Arundel County, MD

ROBERT DREXLER Fire Marshal Greece, NY

JAY ELBETTAR, P.E., CBO, LEED AP, CASp Building Official Mission Viejo, CA

GILBERT GONZALES, JR., CBO Chief Building Official Murray. UT

RONALD E. HOOVER, CBO, MCP Director of Building Inspections/ Fire Chief City of Marion/Alburnett Fire Dept. Marion, IA

JAMES E. MORGANSON CPCA, Director of Codes Village of Lake Placid/Town of North Elba Lake Placid, NY

M. DONNY PHIPPS, CBO, CFM Director of Building Codes and Inspections Richland County Columbia, SC

TINA RAKES Code Administrator/Combination Inspector Baldwin City, KS

RICHARD C. TRUITT, SR. Deputy Director Inspections, Licenses and Permits Harford County, MD

LYNN UNDERWOOD, CBO, MCP Code Official Norfolk, VA

GREG WHEELER, CBO Chief Building Official Thornton, CO

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER DOMINIC SIMS, CBO Washington, DC International Code Council 500 New Jersey Avenue, NW Sixth Floor Washington, DC 20001 tel: 888.icc.safe (422.7233) tel: 202.370.1800 fax: 202.783.2348 www.iccsafe.org

January 26, 2015

Mr. Max Mayfield c/o Ms. Leslie Chapman-Henderson President/CEO FLASH 1427 East Piedmont Drive, Suite 2 Tallahassee, FL 32308

Dear Max,

On behalf of the International Code Council Board of Directors, our Members and staff, please accept our sincerest congratulations on your selection as the 2015 National Weatherperson of the Year!

We are keenly aware that your commitment and contributions to protecting the public from weather-related disasters have been a key priority for you during your career. Whether it was during your tenure as Director of the National Hurricane Center Director, as a U.S. Air Force weather forecaster or in your current role as chairman of the World Meteorological Organization's Regional Association IV, or writing in your popular blog, you have been an advocate for safety, including the role of building codes.

You have not been reluctant to point out the need for collaboration between the advocates of tougher building standards and land use rules. You have been widely quoted as saying, "What is lacking in the United States is the political will to make and impose hard decisions on building codes and land use in the face of resistance from the influential building industry and a public still willing to gamble that the big one will never hit."

As a result of your principles, you played a major role in warning and convincing the public and government about the risks of tragedy by continuing to build vulnerable homes in the tropical storm zone and failing to plan escape routes.

For those of us that know you as a leader in hurricane safety who recognizes the need for strong building codes to create resilient communities, this year February 5 will be extra special as National Weatherperson's Day is celebrated. While you have earned many accolades during your career this seems distinctive as it recognizes the hard working, continuous efforts and silent contributions of meteorologists and weather forecasters. You have been anything but silent and we appreciate that very much!

Sincerely,

A Lei

Guy Tomberlin, CBO ICC Board President

Dominic Sims, CBO Chief Executive Officer