

Department of Commerce NEWS RELEASE

John R. Kasich, Governor

Jacqueline T. Williams, Director Department of Commerce

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 4, 2015

Contact: Matt Mullins at (614) 644-2556 matt.mullins@com.state.oh.us

OHIO BOARD OF BUILDING STANDARDS RECOGNIZES MEDINA COUNTY BUILDING DEPARTMENT WITH ANNUAL AWARD

COLUMBUS, Ohio – At today's Board meeting, the Ohio Board of Building Standards (Board) presented the Medina County Building Department with the 2015 David A. Smith Building Department Award for Innovation.

This award is presented annually to recognize an Ohio certified building department that has demonstrated exemplary customer service, dedication to public service, and has furthered the mission and goals of the Board. "Medina County's building department is very knowledgeable, quick and responsive to their customers, and provide valuable services promoting safety and growth in their community," said Board Chairman Gerald Holland.

Of the approximately 400 full service certified building departments in Ohio, the Board received 11 nominations for this year's award. Once nominations were received, the Board selected the winner based on a review of the departments' performance, contacts building contractors and designers who worked in those communities, and conducted 'secret shopper' calls to the departments. The following are the certified building departments nominated for 2015:

City of Cleveland
City of Columbus
City of Fairlawn
City of Independence
Medina County
Miami County

City of Moreland Hills
City of North Ridgeville
Ottawa County
City of Powell
City of Strongsville
Washington County

The award is named for former Board Member David A. Smith. Mr. Smith embodied the goals and mission of the Board through his long career in model code associations, as an engineer, and as a building official.

###

www.com.ohio.gov Follow the BBS on Twitter at www.twitter.com/ohiobuilds