We've changed the way you'll experience Annual Conference


Revamped schedule allows you to advance your career and network with peers in a meaningful way

This year's ICC Annual Conference and Building Safety & Design Expo in Columbus, Ohio, will bring together building safety professionals from across the spectrum with plenty of opportunites to advance your career and network with peers in a meaningful way. With this year's schedule packed full of interesting, educational and fun events, ICC added some new features and made changes to the way you'll experience Annual Conference.

One of the most significant is a restructuring of how ICC's Awards are presented. This year, fewer awards will be presented during several events throughout the conference. Previously, we presented almost all of the awards at a single awards luncheon, which resulted in a very long program that often exceeded the time frame and spilled over into the afternoon session. We have repurposed the awards luncheon into a Members Luncheon, featuring Archie Griffin, Ohio State legend and the only two-time winner of the prestigious Heisman Trophy, as our keynote speaker. The extra time saved for after the Members Lunch will allow you to particpate in a Meet & Greet with Griffin.

All awards will be announced during the Annual Business Meeting on Sept. 11. Here is the restructured schedule of ICC awards presentations:

  • The International Code Council/Institute for Market Transformation Standard Bearers Awards, and the National Leadership in Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Awards will be held on Sunday, Sept. 10 during the Sustainability Membership Council Meeting.
  • This year's Chapter Presidents' Meeting on Monday, Sept. 12 will feature award presentations for the ICC Chapter of the Year Award, ICC Chapter Merit Awards and the ICC Region Spotlight Award.
  • In addition to a prestigious group of speakers who will discuss residential energy efficiency and the latest on developing science-based tools to measure resilience in our communities, the Government Relations Forum on Tuesday, Sept. 12 will feature award presentations for the ICC Affiliate Award and ICC Meritorious Service Award.
  • Keynote speaker Archie Griffin won't be the only reason to attend this year's Members' Luncheon on Tuesday, Sept. 12. Join us to find out who will receive the prestigious Code Official of the Year Award, ICC Fire Service Award, ICC Community Service Awards, ICC Educator of the Year Award, and the William J. Tangye Award.
  • Tuesday evening's Annual Banquet will be a night to celebrate our outgoing ICC Board President Dwayne Garriss, and incoming President Jay Elbettar. Join us as we also unveil the recipients of this year's Bobby J. Fowler Award and ICC President's Award.