View newsletter online

Connect with us.


ICC pledges help for hurricane-affected areas

The International Code Council pledged to match member, staff and stakeholder donations to the American Red Cross up to $64,000 — the number of ICC members — to help with disaster relief for those affected by Hurricanes Harvey and Irma. We've raised more than $37,000 so far, more than halfway to our goal. Click here to make your contribution today.


David Collins presented with ICC's Bobby J. Fowler Award

David Collins, chair of the ICC Sustainability, Energy & High Performance Building Code Action Committee, was presented the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award during the Annual Banquet at ICC's 2017 Annual Conference in Columbus, Ohio. The Fowler Award honors the memory of the first chairman of the ICC Board of Directors who led the charge to consolidate three regional model code organizations into one association. The award is presented to individuals whose contributions to the building safety industry advance the Code Council's goals to achieve a safer built environment.


Pictured (left-right): International Code Council Board of Directors member and Awards Committee Chairman Richard Truitt and Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award recipient Becky Baker.

ICC honors individuals for contributions to safety and resiliency in the built environment

The International Code Council honored several individuals for their contributions to safety and resiliency in the built environment during the Awards Luncheon at the Annual Conference. Becky Baker, director of building safety for Jefferson County, Colo., received the Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award. Gary Lewis was presented the ICC Fire Service Award. The ICC Community Service Award was presented to Women in Code Enforcement and Development and Permit Tech Nation, and the city of San Jose, Calif. Bill Bracken received the ICC Educator of the Year Award.


Pictured (left-right): ICC Board Immediate Past President Dwayne Garriss, Laurie Rich and Marcin Michalek.

ICC President's Award presented to new voting devices team

ICC Board of Directors Immediate Past President Dwayne Garriss presented his 2017 President's Award to the team of people who developed the new voting devices that were used at the Annual Business Meeting during Tuesday night's Annual Banquet. The team includes Tabinda Akhtar, John Belcik, Imran Haq, Reuven Hicks, Zubair Kaleemulla, Marcin Michalek, Laurie Rich, Sean Stanhibel and Rick Szentkiralyi. The award is based on the selection by the President of a recipient worthy of special recognition for service to the International Code Council.


Elbettar: We will continue to work for the members

Newly elected ICC Board of Directors President Jay Elbettar spoke on the importance of strong, updated codes to help create resilient communities, the ICC initiatives and programs that are supporting members, and the new enhanced services that ICC will offer its members, chapters and stakeholders in the coming year.


International Code Council Government Relations Senior Vice President Sara Yerkes addresses attendees during the Government Relations Forum.

GR Forum examines energy efficiency and resilience

This year's ICC Government Relations Forum featured a prestigious group of speakers in Columbus — including Stephen Cauffman, research engineer, National Institute of Standards and Technology; Russell Riggs, senior policy representative, National Association of Realtors; and Ryan Meres, program director, RESNET — to present on a number of current topics and emerging trends across the country. The topics include a discussion on residential energy efficiency and home energy ratings, how building and energy codes affect realtors and their clients, and the latest on developing science-based tools to measure resilience in our communities.


ICC Annual Conference sponsors

   RESOURCES Online Store | Career Center | ICC Campus Online | Event Calendar | Newsroom
   SERVICES Subscriptions | ICC Media Kit | ICC Privacy Policy | Contact ICC | About ICC
   NOTICES Preferences | Copyright | Third-Party Advertising | Link Information | Unsubscribe | Privacy Policy
   Copyright ©2017 International Code Council, Inc. All rights reserved.